where to find a mid level cutter

Introduce yourself! Recommended for people who are just starting out, as opposed to experienced lathe cutters who are new members.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

lejockey

where to find a mid level cutter

Sat May 09, 2015 10:04 am

Hi

I have been browsing the forum for a year or so now, but have never posted anything. I have been saving up my monies for about 6 years and now have a budget of about £6000 to spend on lathe. I would like to cut onto vinyl like materials, not acetate and was after some advice on where to look? In an ideal world I would love a T560 with the feedback cutting head, but after emailing Souri there aren't any ins stock and not enough orders to warrant making any at the moment. I wouldn't ever claim to be an expert, but I have built amplifiers and speakers, worked in studios, written and released music and have a degree in physics. I understand a lot about the theory of cutting records, and would like to learn the practical side to it. I was wandering what the forums thoughts were on my options were?

Thank you

opcode66

Re: where to find a mid level cutter

Sun May 10, 2015 3:53 pm

lejockey wrote:In an ideal world I would love a T560 with the feedback cutting head, but after emailing Souri there aren't any ins stock and not enough orders to warrant making any at the moment.
Classic Souri response. This could mean a number of things. Typically, this is not true. On this site, in the same week, two people posted. One saying that Souri replied as he did to you. The other saying that Souri just sold him a VR. In my experience, Souri tells this to people he doesn't want to sell to for aby number of reasons. He will never contact you (though he says he will put you on a waiting list). In the meantime, you will hear about others buying a new VR from him. Totally rediculous.