Presto 6N??

This is where record cutters raise questions about cutting, and trade wisdom and experiment results. We love Scully, Neumann, Presto, & Rek-O-Kut lathes and Wilcox-Gay Recordios (among others). We are excited by the various modern pro and semi-pro systems, too, in production and development. We use strange, extinct disc-based dictation machines. And other stuff, too.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

JayDC

Presto 6N??

Sat Jan 13, 2007 6:08 pm

Hello,
Thanks for setting this site up, I have been interested in this subject for a long time. Nice to finally find a place to talk to people "in the know"..

I'm a indie producer of dance music, and I have been producing music since I was 14 (13 years). I have a couple of vinyl release to date, and a good collection of records, and dubplates. I have always wanted to record to vinyl since I started to make music.

Seems these days cutters are harder, and harder to find. I remember the days of Jah Freedom, Scrunch, aardvark and the like, and used them a good amount.

Now to the point.

I'm very interested in get myself a lathe for personal use. I really would like a hands on experience in making a great sounding record. Most of my presses definately could have sounded better. I use to think it was the cutters fault, but now Im starting to realize it was probly mine.

There is alot more to getting a record to sound good, then a CD or dat.

That being said.

I have found a cool little Presto 6N with a Presto 90-B amp, a 1C cutter head, vacuum attachment, and a microscope.

Would this be an okay unit to start with?.. I would like to cut in stereo, and something tells me this is a mono machine. That's okay for right now, as long as I can upgrade it, is that possible?..

I have not found any information on the cutting head, and I'm wondering if a stylus is available for it?..