Presto D7 guidance needed

Introduce yourself! Recommended for people who are just starting out, as opposed to experienced lathe cutters who are new members.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

Lightfoot

Presto D7 guidance needed

Wed Sep 08, 2021 12:46 pm

New here, but not new to working on electronics. BUT I am new to lathes, and could use some help troubleshooting this one.

The owner says that there's no sound from the speaker. Before I pull out the amp, I want to check what I can to confirm that either the speaker, the output transformer, or the connections to them aren't the culprit. It doesn't seem like there's a schematic or service manual out there for this, so I'm flying a little blind as to what I should expect to see resistance wise. That said, based on what I'm measuring at the pins for the output plug and the speaker itself, nothing appears to be open. Feedback appreciated!

Output plug:
Speaker Plug.jpg
Wires going to the front voice coil:
Speaker 2.jpg
Wires going to the rear magnet:
Speaker 1.jpg
Someone spliced in these wires:
Speaker 4.jpg
The model of speaker:
Speaker 3.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

markrob

Re: Presto D7 guidance needed

Wed Sep 08, 2021 2:06 pm

Hi,