How do I measure head response correctly?

Anything goes! Inventors! Artists! Cutting edge solutions to old problems. But also non-commercial usage of record cutting. Cost- effective, cost-ineffective, nutso, brilliant, terribly fabulous and sometimes fabulously terrible ideas.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

budharpey

How do I measure head response correctly?

Thu Mar 13, 2014 11:42 am

Hello,

I studied quite a bit in this great forum now and found the very useful thread of markrob about his DIY Recording Head: https://www.lathetrolls.com/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=3027.
I have some questions referring to the issues mentioned in this thread, but as it already is quite long and discusses various matters I thought I'd rather start a new thread for my kind of "basic" questions.

1) first problem: how to measure the head frequency response correctly?

My idea would have been, to record some piece of audio (either a generated frequency signal with range from maybe 20 hz up to 12000 hz or simply a music tune) with the recording head on polycarbonate and than play it back with input to True RTA with the "Peak hold" option. Then I would see the frequencies which were recorded. One would have the Anti RIAA filter in action while playing the record back, and this way the spectrum should be more or less a horizontal line until the upper frequency border, which would be depending on head quality somewhere between 8 and 12 kilo Hz (disregarding the resonance peak somewhere in the spectrum). Problem with this way of analyzing would be that undesired noise which was recorded and played back would be also in the analyzing spectrum.

In the above mentioned thread markrob writes that he used a "Kaman Eddy current position sensor" and obviously TrueRTA as software to measure.
I wonder how this works, I can't find out which kind of sensor model this should be and how to apply it to the recording head and what source signal to use.