Lacquer Used to Coat Master Discs

Topics regarding professional record cutting.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

ExquisitePastry

Lacquer Used to Coat Master Discs

Fri Oct 11, 2019 11:50 am

Hi all,

I currently work as a research assistant where my project is to repurpose the vinyl grooves when cut to use as microfluidic devices (basically really small plumbing to flow small amounts of fluid across a surface). To my understanding, vinyl masters are usually made of some soft metal and then coated with nitrocellulose lacquer. Is there a way for me to get my hands on the specific lacquer that is used for this process? I believe some guitars are finished in this type of lacquer but I am not too sure if it is the same formulation. Also, does anyone know the process of application & drying the lacquer that is used on the disc?

Athough I am definitely not passionate of vinyl cutting, I do think it is really cool that such a community exists here

markrob

Re: Lacquer Used to Coat Master Discs

Fri Oct 11, 2019 1:31 pm

Hi,

Check out this source:

https://www.apollomasters.com/index.html

Mark

Aussie0zborn

Sun Oct 13, 2019 8:00 am

Unfortunately that's a tightly held secret. If we knew the formula, there would be more than just two manufacturers in the world.

Two of our members here have four different formulas between them. A search might help. The lacquer is applied to the polished alunium substrate via a curtain coater. I've seen the process but don't recall how they're dried. You can see the process on a YouTube video called, "How It's Made - Vinyl Records". Good luck.

ExquisitePastry

Sun Oct 13, 2019 10:39 pm

Thanks for the response guys, I'll definitely check out the formulations by the board members in here.