Meissner 9-1065 record cutter

This is where record cutters raise questions about cutting, and trade wisdom and experiment results. We love Scully, Neumann, Presto, & Rek-O-Kut lathes and Wilcox-Gay Recordios (among others). We are excited by the various modern pro and semi-pro systems, too, in production and development. We use strange, extinct disc-based dictation machines. And other stuff, too.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

Markgold55

Meissner 9-1065 record cutter

Thu Mar 16, 2023 5:41 pm

Hey everyone. I’m new to the lathe world but would like to get more knowledge and experience. I recently purchased this Meissner 9-1065 record cutter/lathe. I know these are not meant to record high fidelity recordings and that they are very lo-fi. I plan to upgrade in the future but would like to experiment with this one for awhile. The issue I’m having is the audio that is recorded on the record. When I first received the unit no audio would record to the record only noise so I had the cutter head rebuilt by West-Tech. With the rebuilt cutter head I am now able to hear audio on the recorded records but it is very low. The volume needs to be maxed out on my Harman Kardon receiver in order to hear the music at somewhat normal volume. I replaced all of the caps on the unit with exception to the metal can electrolytics and also had all of the tubes tested to make sure they were good. The record player playback works great along with the radio so I’m not sure if the electrolytics could specifically cause an issue with the recording volume or if there is something else I can check to diagnose?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks! :D
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

markrob

Re: Meissner 9-1065 record cutter

Fri Mar 17, 2023 12:00 am

Hi,