Ionizer / Ionizing air blower for cutting plastic

This is where record cutters raise questions about cutting, and trade wisdom and experiment results. We love Scully, Neumann, Presto, & Rek-O-Kut lathes and Wilcox-Gay Recordios (among others). We are excited by the various modern pro and semi-pro systems, too, in production and development. We use strange, extinct disc-based dictation machines. And other stuff, too.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

12bitcuts

Ionizer / Ionizing air blower for cutting plastic

Fri Dec 04, 2020 11:34 pm

Hello fellow trolls,

I am a cutting newbie, still building out my lab.
I was thinking about adding an air ionizer to my desk, just above my Atom recorder, to help with static.
Would one of these be suitable?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Aerostat-PC-Ionizing-Air-Blower-Fan-Ion-Anti-Static-110V-220V-ax/283548890240

I know folks commonly use an air cleaner (Honeywell, etc), since I already have one (without ionizer) I thought one of these might be handy just for cutting.
I'd want to prep blanks under the ionizer and maybe run it during the cutting process, mounted about 12" above the Atom platter.
Good idea?

Thanks in advance for your feedback

12bitcuts

Re: Ionizer / Ionizing air blower for cutting plastic

Sun Dec 06, 2020 2:36 pm

Mods, you can move this to the newbie forum (I should have posted there).

tragwag

Mon Dec 07, 2020 3:57 pm

I use a negative ion generator and it does work, but not very powerfully. I have to use it in conjunction with anti-static spray, and put it right up to the disc to have any results
making lathe cuts on a Presto 6N, HIFI stereo cuts on vinylrecorder
at Audio Geography Studios, Providence, RI USA
http://www.audiogeography.com

Discomo

Thu Dec 10, 2020 6:37 am

Bonjour 12bitcuts!

Good question