us copyright law

This is where record cutters raise questions about cutting, and trade wisdom and experiment results. We love Scully, Neumann, Presto, & Rek-O-Kut lathes and Wilcox-Gay Recordios (among others). We are excited by the various modern pro and semi-pro systems, too, in production and development. We use strange, extinct disc-based dictation machines. And other stuff, too.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

okpanda

us copyright law

Tue Mar 21, 2017 6:05 pm

i'm just getting started as a lathe cutter and several people have asked me about having albums cut for them that perhaps aren't available on vinyl. normally when i advertise i am careful to mention that the rights to the master recording must be owned to avoid copyright issues, but i'm not sure how seriously i should be worried about legal trouble if it's just one copy for personal use. what's the opinion around here, do you guys usually honor these requests or not?

Kris D

Re: us copyright law

Tue Mar 21, 2017 9:13 pm

Just cut that shit!

As long as you don't sign the deadwax and wear gloves to keep your fingerprints off the disc you will be fine.

Agents from the RIAA may come around asking questions but they won't be able to prove anything.

Greg Reierson

Thu Mar 23, 2017 8:15 am

Fair Use should allow a personal copy from one's own collection. In the US anyway.

I read this on the internet... <http://www.recordcollectorsguild.org/index.php?name=Sections&req=viewarticle&artid=27&page=1>
Greg Reierson
http://www.RareFormMastering.com
VMS70 :: SAL74B :: SX74

tragwag

Thu Mar 23, 2017 12:51 pm

I use a clause in the iTunes purchase agreement, and apply that to vinyl/records as it doesn't mention the medium.
Basically the agreement says you can make up to 7 copies for personal use, when you purchase files from iTunes.
Not entirely sure how sound it is, but they'd have to take me to court I guess. And it would be over a few copies that people play only in their homes so...