Rolandjays vacuume plate?

This is where record cutters raise questions about cutting, and trade wisdom and experiment results. We love Scully, Neumann, Presto, & Rek-O-Kut lathes and Wilcox-Gay Recordios (among others). We are excited by the various modern pro and semi-pro systems, too, in production and development. We use strange, extinct disc-based dictation machines. And other stuff, too.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

sameal

Rolandjays vacuume plate?

Sun Dec 06, 2015 7:29 pm

Im thinking about this platter, but i cant get ahold of rolandjays.

Im wondering how id get it to work on a presto 8dg.
Im totally new to this.

Anybody got any experience?

sameal

Re: Rolandjays vacuume plate?

Sun Dec 06, 2015 9:12 pm

I guess i should get a little more specific. Judging by the photos on ebay i cant see how to hook up the vacuume to the platter, and im concerned about clearance with the head on the 8dg

ROLANDJAYS

Sun Dec 06, 2015 11:24 pm

HELLOOOOOOO
HOW DID YOU TRY TO CONTACT ME ?

YOU PUT THE PLATTER ON A STANDARD TURNTABLE , STANTON, TECHNIC, NUMARK ECT...
.280" INCH DIAMETER SPINDLE
YOU MUST CUT A KEY WAY OR DRILL 2 HOLES (IN YOUR SPINDLE ) FOR THE AIR TO GO THRU YOUR SPINDLE AND UNDER THE RECORD
THEN I INCLUDE A CAP THAT GOES OVER THE SPINDLE , YOU WILL HOOK UP THE AIR HOSE TO THIS CAP.
THERE ARE SET SCREWS YOU ADJUST AIRFLOW, DEPENDING IN THE DIFFERENT SIZE OF RECORD.

sameal

Mon Dec 07, 2015 6:34 am

Hey!

I sent an ebay message, and i thought i sent a message here, but i cant find it in my sent folder, so i probably messed something up sending it.

So, my next question would be, how harx would it be to drill the holes in the spindle?

And can the vacuum platter run off the vacuum pump for the chips?

rsimms3

Mon Dec 07, 2015 10:01 am