in 2014 and beyond: realistic first lathe?

This is where record cutters raise questions about cutting, and trade wisdom and experiment results. We love Scully, Neumann, Presto, & Rek-O-Kut lathes and Wilcox-Gay Recordios (among others). We are excited by the various modern pro and semi-pro systems, too, in production and development. We use strange, extinct disc-based dictation machines. And other stuff, too.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

joe_caithness

in 2014 and beyond: realistic first lathe?

Wed May 14, 2014 8:13 am

So it's an open as hell question.

I am a mastering engineer working in a large (and potentially expandable) space in Nottingham, UK.

I have access to a lot of nice stuff: analogue transfer from every angle. But I can't cut lacquers for my clients, at the moment I can't even begin to learn.

It's always been a (pipe?) dream to be able to do this for my clients at some point in the future (I'm five year into my mastering career).

I read the forum and lurk about a bit. Some stuff seems to be clear: lathes are hard as hell to find and it gets harder but there is some DIY projects and hobby developers making some progress.

If I were to make a long term plan to own and operate a lathe in, say 5 years time, what should I be watching / looking for on the classifieds? just so I can get an idea of the prices and what's surviving.

Thanks in advanced,

Joe @ Subsequent Mastering

Virtalahde

Re: in 2014 and beyond: realistic first lathe?

Wed May 14, 2014 2:52 pm

Hi Joe, good to see you here!

Four years ago I was pondering the same exact question here:

http://repforums.prosoundweb.com/index.php?topic=33809.0

The best advice I got came from Paul Gold: "I say jump in with both set or don't jump"